Journeebox Qingdao (Spring 2020) Review

Journeebox started shipping out their Qingdao box this March, which makes this their spring 2020 box if we are to follow the seasons. Interestingly this meant that they skipped a “winter box” and should now be on a similar schedule to other seasonal lifestyle boxes. Since their theme revolves around travel destinations, they won’t have to follow other boxes to curate items for specific seasons.

All lifestyle boxes come with a little booklet that explains about the feature products in the box, but Journeebox stands out from the rest with the artistic details.

This Qingdao booklet has a cover that features elements of traditional Chinese paper cutting, with patterns of waves and scallops as a tribute to the coastal city of Qingdao. When I opened the envelope I thought I was getting another wedding invitation like the Fall 2019 box.

The biggest item of the Qingdao box is the ombre scarf (MSRP $98). It’s very soft acrylic material and I really like the blue color! It can be used as a shawl or as a scarf, so it’s quite versatile.

I have a gray version that I’ve been using a lot when going out so I can cover my daughter in her stroller. I also use it as a scarf because it’s soft and thin enough to wrap around my neck, while I can’t do the same with the Causebox poncho (which I love and have 3 of!). It’s also made by a company that highlights women in management.

Journeebox always has really good quality jewelry, and this time a necklace box set (MSRP $61) is included. You can choose between sterling silver or 18K gold. I usually wear white gold or silver, so I decided to switch things up this season with gold.

I like how delicate each of the design is so that you can wear it with any outfit. You can even layer them, which is something I don’t usually try but I think it’s on trend right now. The spring Causebox has a layer necklace and the spring Popsugar box also features a multiple-strand necklace. The necklaces vary between 16″and 22″ with a 4″ extension, so it should fit most if not all of us. And since there are five in the box, you can even share them with others if you want to spread the love. ^_^

The box that the necklaces come in is also very nice if you want to keep all your necklaces together or gift them as a set. Although this jewelry set is made in China, the company provides insurance and medical care to its employees, and even adhere to a local union’s standard concerning overtime hours and annual leave. I know that we can be wary of products made from China because of low quality issue and sweat factories, so I’m happy to report that Journeebox is partnering up with a company in China that we can gladly support.

The third customizable item for all members is the ceramic vase (MSRP $38). You can choose between brown or marble, and I chose the brown ceramic vase.

I like this more than the votive from the Fall 2019 box because it comes with a lid and is taller. It measures 5 3/4″ tall and the lid is 1/4″ thick. The base widens from about 2 1/2″ to 4″ wide on top.

The airtight natural bamboo lid makes it easy to store food or dry ingredients instead of just knick knacks. The traditional Chinese patterns on the ceramic body gives it an artistic look, though I feel that the vibe of the jar is more Middle Eastern or South African than Chinese.

The next item was a pleasant surprise for me. It is a set of two organic cotton napkins (MSRP $29). The napkins measure 17.7″ by 17.7″ and are printed with with a traditional navy Chinese scalloped fan patterns.

I use a lot of napkins and tissues at home between my toddler and I! We’re messy eaters, and I’m glad that we have some sustainable and eco-friendly addition to our napkin supply. The material feels a little rough to me but I hope it’ll soften up with some washing. 30s is not the new 20s when it comes to household goods because I’m definitely way more interested in kitchen towels, soup bowls, and other home items these days than I was a decade ago!

The featured skincare item in this box is the Manoi & Hops Bath Scrub (MSRP $38).

I have never heard of these two ingredients before but am learning something new from the very informative Journeebox booklet. “Manoi oil is an infused perfume-oil made from soaking the petals of beautiful yellow and white Tahitian gardenias in coconut oil.” The Maori people native to Polynesia have used it for more than 2,000 years. Hops are used in beer and that is inspired by Qingdao’s beer culture (influenced by the city being under German control from 1898 to 1914).

The jar smells of coconut and makes me think of a sweet snack. I personally don’t have time to leisure in body scrub nor do I like coconut-scented things. But the ingredients are natural and said to have therapeutic and protective properties, so beauty lovers with some spare time, do try this and let me know how you like it.

Journeebox is bringing back stationary! Included is a box of five invitations and envelopes (MSRP $32) inspired by the Chinese art of paper cutting and are made from 100% recycled paper.

The cards feature “five unique and bold patterns inspired by traditional Chinese nature and fabrics.” Here are two for you to see, and the other three I’ll keep a surprise!

The booklet said that if you share the invitation with a friend who subscribes to Journeebox, “you’ll both receive a gift of an additional item in your next box valued at least $40 MSRP or a credit toward your next box.” This is new for me! Journeebox just invited me to join their Referral Program, so I have a referral link now! I am more than happy to virtually invite you with my pretty invitations! (Each individual invitation card has the same pattern as the regular card.)

Annual members always get an extra item in their box (kudos to Journeebox for this nice incentive)! This Qingdao box includes a 3-pair earring set (MSRP $48) in sterling silver or 18K gold plating. I went with the gold set to match with my gold necklaces.

The little jewelry bag is really cute! That nice pop of blue flowery print ties in well with the blue scarf and blue napkins and would make for a lovely gift bag if you want to gift jewelry. The set has both studs and hoops, so it’s a good staple set for your jewelry collection.

Although this is a “Qingdao” box, I feel that it doesn’t really project a Chinese or even Asian vibe. I watch a lot of Chinese dramas and read many novels since I was young, so that might give me a bias perception of what Chinese culture and designs entail. However I feel about the theme, I still think it’s a solid box with some very useful items of good qualities. And always kudos for Journeebox for its support of sustainable products and ethical companies.

This Qingdao box has seven full-sized items (not counting the annual membership gift) and a retail value of $296. You can order your Journeebox on their website today. A quarterly subscription is $54.95, and an annual subscription is $49.95 per box ($199.96). Please use code “save15jb” or “spring15 for $15 off your first box via my referral link.

6 comments

  1. […] The design is not bad and it reminds me of the Nashelle necklace in Causebox Fall 2019. Its delicate and simplistic design makes it easy to wear with different outfits. I don’t wear jewelry often so I’ll give it a pass, especially since I have better quality fashion jewelry from Journeebox. […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.