Journeebox Fall 2019 Review

I just got the fall 2019 Journeebox this week, woohoo! I was eagerly waiting to see what’s in it since there are no more spoilers after the third one. This is the last fall box to be delivered for seasonal subscription boxes.

The theme of this Journeebox is Jairpur (India), “the Pink City”. Because each box has a theme that’s unrelated to the season, I don’t feel disappointed if items aren’t more fall-like or seasonal. The beautiful dragonfly box actually was shipped in a poly bag because the table runner was too big to fit in the blue box. This was also the case for earlier boxes where one of the items was quite big (spring box). When I opened the box, I was really surprised to see a lovely envelope with a card inside. It’s actually a handmade traditional Indian wedding envelope!

Opening it revealed the Journeebox booklet that introduces the theme of the box and the six items. There’s even a playlist! I am turning it on as I write this review. You can check it out at https://spoti.fi/2MelJ6y. This is the first subscription box that gave me a playlist to get into the mood. It’s a really pleasant surprise and I appreciate the thoughtfulness.

The booklet is more than just information on the items. It tells of what inspired the founder Kevia to curate a box base on the theme of Jaipur, and even explained how Jaipur got its name as the Pink City. I learned an interesting history lesson about how Maharaja Ram Singh painted Jaipur in terracotta pink in 1876 to welcome Edward, the Prince of Wales. Throughout the book there are stories and information about different aspects of India. This is probably the only subscription box booklet that I enjoy reading!

Now onto the items! The first spoiler was this lovely Roshanee tealight candle holder (MSRP $18) that doubles as a container. It measures 3″ by 2.5″ and is made of recycled iron. I chose the silver one.

Annual subscribers get an even bigger Roshanee holder (MSRP $40) as their extra gift this box. It measures 4″ by 4.25″ and comes in gold. In recent boxes, annual members get an extra jewelry piece, so this is a nice change for members who prefer home decor items.

The medium sized Roshanee holder is fairly light and small, especially when compared to the bigger one. I don’t use a lot of candles at home, but I can see how lovely the craftsmanship is in these iron containers.

The second item is also Journeebox’s speciality – jewelry by Kevia. It’s a pair of handmade Amer post earrings (MSRP $85) with rose cut faceting. You can choose between rose quartz or aqua chalcedony in matte 18k gold or sterling silver. I chose the aqua chalcedony in sterling silver.

It is a lovely shade of blue, not too subtle, not too bold. It measures 1 inch long, dangling just a bit. I don’t wear earrings much because my ears are super sensitive to any jewelry, but I think they will match well with many outfits.

Kevia has really good quality jewelry, so I think you would be happy with any of their pieces. In line with Journeebox’s vision, the fair-trade factory making these earrings are family-owned and uses 100% recycled brass for these earrings. Even if you don’t wear earrings, they’ll still make a lovely gift.

Next up is a textile runner (MSRP $103). This is their big-ticket item of the box. It comes in two color schemes: pink and navy, or beige and brown. I chose the neutral beige and brown version.

It is much longer than I thought, measuring 86″ by 15″. It is handmade from sustainable recycled cotton. You can use it as a table accent, bed decoration, or even floor runner. The material is quite thick and heavy, probably since it’s handmade. I think it’s a really quality piece of work for those who enjoy decorating their homes.

The next item is a 3-piece set of essential oil (MSRP $35). The set includes three vegan 10mL bottles of essential oil in Ylang Ylang (yellow-flowered tree native to India), lemongrass, and cinnamon.

These three scents were chosen to help stimulate the three main energies of Pitta, Kapha, and Vata according to the Ayurveda homeopathic system of medicine.

The fifth item is a drawstring travel bag (MSRP $15) with a colorful depiction of Jairpur. This handmade and screen printed bag measures 12″ by 16″.

It seems too delicate to be used as a backpack or grocery bag, but it can be good for keeping shoes separately in your luggage or for storing dirty clothes during a trip. I am actually more impressed that the bag is made by a female-owned and operated company that provides continued education for its employees. One of Journeebox’s strength is working with companies that cares for the wellbeing of its employees.

The last item of the box is a laddus duet ($6) from WOW Laddus. A laddu is a healthy snack consisting of mostly fruit and dried nuts local to India.

This box has a golden grain laddu (whole wheat with crunchy nuts) and a dry fruit supreme laddu (dry fruits and nuts). It’s individually wrapped in foil and put in a cute little box.

I have never heard of laddus before, so it was fun to try a new snack. However, these wholesome treats both contain nuts so people with nut allergens please beware. I like the rich flavors of Indian food, but these desserts aren’t really my type. Have you tried them? What do you think?

This box has a retail value of $262 (not counting the annual gift). The value is lower than other similar lifestyle subscription boxes, but I appreciate that their products don’t have super inflated prices and that they do support very social conscious companies.

To buy this fall box, head over to the Keviastyle website and use discount code “Boxdeal.” Each seasonal box costs $54.99. But the coupon will give you $20 off your first box if you sign up for an annual subscription ($34.99 for the first box, and $49.99 for the next three boxes, making your annual total to $179.99). You can skip boxes as you like and receive an extra gift per box! As a quarterly subscriber, you will get $15 off your first box ($39.99 for the first box, and $54.99 for the next box).

If you would like a referral gift, please let me know after signing up and I’ll email customer service to send us both a gift! Drop me a comment or email me (thaiankim@gmail.com). Previous referral gifts included earrings, necklace, bracelet, notecards, just to name a few things.

7 comments

  1. Thank you for the information. I just signed up for an annual box which should be here any day now. Perhaps we can see if it’s not to late to get a referral gift for both of us. Let me know… My e-mail is Luan Knorr. Serenity222@ nycap.rr.com. thank you

    Like

    • Hi Luan! Thank you so much for reading and reaching out. I have emailed Journeebox about the referral gift and have emailed you as well. Will keep you posted via email on their response!

      Like

  2. Great review! You are very thorough and provide good information about the box and it’s contents. I enjoyed reading about the box, even though I skipped this one myself.

    Like

    • Hi Joanne! Thanks for taking the time to read and comment! I hope the winter box will be more your style. I just renewed my annual membership, so there’ll be more of these reviews coming. ^_^

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.