Box of Style Summer 2019 Review

When I first saw promotions for the Box of Style summer box, I was wondering what the hype was all about because its price was about double that of other subscription boxes for beauty and style, and you know I’ve got several of those. So when I good deal came along, I got a box to see for myself.

The box itself is very feminine and classy looking with this baby pink and glossy Box of Style lettering on top. I think it’s really cool that the box has a magnetic clasp to close, giving it an extra luxurious feeling. (The only way to take this picture was to get my daughter to participate by holding the box open for me. )

The big ticket item of the summer box is the Missoni Home Beach Towel (MSRP $220). I have never heard of this brand before, and honestly at $220, I would never thought of getting a towel from this company even if I know of it.

It measures 63″ X 35.5″ and is bigger than the average towel, but it’s not as big as I thought it would be, especially after using that Turkish towel from Causebox. The colors are also not as bright or rich as I would like. I favor brighter and richer colors because they will last longer; this towel already looks faded even though it is brand new. I’m glad I got to get it as part of a subscription box just to see what the fuss is about, but it’s definitely not worth the money if I have to pay retail. I can’t imagine buying a towel for over $200 unless it was threaded with gold and gems!

Bags have been in several subscription boxes, and the Box of Style is no exception. This is a Macrame handbag by Danielle Nicole (MSRP $100) in black with wooden handles and a crossbody strap.

Summer seems to be the season to try out untypical bags. Causebox had the straw bag, and now Box of Style has a macrame bag. It’s interesting to say the least, especially with that extra fringe at the bottom. I like that you can wear it as a crossbody because I wouldn’t want to keep looking for a place to put down my bag if I’m out and about, or just hold it all the times in my hands. With a toddler running loose, I need both hands to keep her safe.

I was afraid that the strap would be too long on me, but it turns out that the bag itself is too long and big for me. I think it would definitely look better on someone taller and more fashionable. It has no zipper or closure, but it’s pretty spacious.

The jewelry piece of this box is a pair of hoop earrings (MSRP $44). It’s the only item where you can customize. It comes in opal or turquoise and is made of Italian Acetate.

I chose opal because I think it’ll match more easily with my outfits, though I don’t really wear earrings. I developed some sort of sensitivity to earrings when I was a child and now can’t wear any for long. As for the style, I think it’s fun and trendy and “hip”. Haha, why do I feel so old using these words to describe it? 😛 I prefer jewelry that are dainty and classy, so it’s not something I would buy for myself personally. But if you like playful and bold jewelry, I think this is a really nice piece. It certainly stands out from all the silver and gold we usually see in subscription boxes, and it’s from Italy. So kudos to the quality!

Summer is about sunshine, and all skincare experts know we need to protect our skin from the harmful rays. Included in this box is a Glo Skin Beauty Oil-Free Moisturizer with an SPF 40+ (MSRP $38).

I think this is the most useful item in this whole box for me. I have been lazy with sunblock for many years, but have really made an effort to put them on this summer because the sunspots are showing and so are the lines. I have a really simple daytime skincare routine (day cream and eye cream and sunblock if I go out), so it’s really nice that this works as both a moisturizer and a sunblock. My skin will probably welcome another layer of moisturization, and if I forget to put on sunblock, I’ll already be protected. I’m liking the pump too because I usually squeeze too much out of my sunscreen tubes.

The last item in the regular summer box was the Benefit 24-Hr Brow Setter (MSRP $24). The design is really cute, reminding me of Korean brands like Tony Moly and Etude House.

The real question for me was “How does this contraption really work?” Thanks to Sephora (which Rakuten is offering a 10% cashback by the way), I think I know what it does now. After you use your brow pencil to fill in your brow, you apply this gel to your brows to keep the make-up on all day. Although I see that reviews are generally positive, it’s not something I would be using, simply because I don’t find it necessary to keep my brows in shape for that long on those rare days that I do use make-up. But people who use make-up often would find this useful, especially since brows really make a difference. If you have used it or something like it before, do you think it’s worth it?

The last, but not least item, in my summer box is the palm-print duster (MSRP $115). This was a bonus item for the summer box.

I love items like poncho, kimonos, wraps, etc. I have two ponchos and three caftans from Causebox, and a Spiritual Gangsta floral kimono from Fabfitfun! I am still in search of the Symbology kimono and cranberry poncho from Causebox. But I digress. ^_^ It’s not hard to guess, but it was this duster that made me want to get the box.

It supposedly fits sizes 0-10, but honestly, I’m not sure how they measured that. I wear size 2-4, so I find it a comfortable fit. But it doesn’t look like there’s a lot of wiggle room if I want to layer up. It’s also quite long on me, but I can’t blame them for that. 😛 I wish it had pockets! Has anyone else gotten this? Can you show me what other way you can style it?

The value of this summer box for the five full-sized items is $426. If you count the bonus duster then the value goes up to $541. The Rachel Zoe Box of Style is one of the most expensive subscription boxes out there with a cost of $99.99 per box if you buy quarterly, and $349.99 if you buy the annual subscription.

I got this box for $49.99 with code MSA50 from My Subscription Addiction. I also got a $10 cash back for the first box from Rakuten. So for $40, it’s a pretty good deal. But I didn’t like most of the items in the box, not even the duster I was originally excited about. Would I subscribe at full price? Definitely not. Although the items are under the luxurious category, I think it has similarity to other boxes with a much lower price point.

The Box of Style Fall 2019 is now available. If you go to their main page and put in your email, you can get $25 off your first box. You can also use code FALL25 or MSA25 courtesy of My Subscription Addiction for $25 off your box as well. Here are the spoilers for Fall 2019.

I’m not impressed by it, especially at the retail price of that clunky necklace. But the crossbody bag looks nice, and it seems like crossbody bags is the “it” fall item this year because Popsugar Must Have also has one in their fall box. If Box of Style winter box wows me and offers a good discount, I might come back for another Box of Style. Until then, I’ll stick to Causebox and Journeebox.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.